Greater Hume Shire


Greater Hume Shire covers an area of some 5,939 kms2, and has a population base of 10,206 people. An amalgamation of the former Culcairn Shire, the former Holbrook Shire (except for an area of 19.2 km2 transferred to the Tumbarumba Shire), and approximately 81 percent of the area of the former Hume Shire, the new Council was constituted by proclamation on 26th May 2004.
The Council Corporate and Community Services are located in the Holbrook office while the Environment and Planning and Engineering, (or technical services) are located in Culcairn. Customer Service Centres are located in Henty, Walla Walla and Jindera.